Asking questions

Humans do this incredible thing. It’s something that I’ve never seen any other animal do. It’s the tendency to ask questions. When a cat or a dog gets hurt by a fire they don’t try and figure out why, they just know not to go near it again. But humans have this crazy ability to question everything. Why did the fire hurt? Why does the heat cause pain? Why do we feel pain? Why? Why? Why? Why?

It is something that never ceases to amaze me about humans. As a child we constantly want to learn more about the world around us. Why do the clouds move in the sky? Why is John so mean to me? We seek answers to things that we don’t understand for a long time. Then after a while the questions slow down. Then eventually something horrible happens. The questions stop being asked, or worse we stop trying to find an answer.

Maybe it’s because we know what we need to after a few years. Or maybe we lose interest in our later lives. Or maybe we get lazy. I know that I’ve stopped looking for answers mostly cause I’m lazy. If I can’t find an answer that I understand with a quick google then I give up. But why do most people stop? I mean I know that scientists still look for the answers. But why do other people stop?

Maybe it isn’t losing interest or being lazy. Maybe it’s because it’s no longer what our lives are about. Once we know how to survive the questions become less important. For the longest time I’ve wanted to know exactly why atoms don’t pass through other atoms, why the 99% free space of my hand doesn’t pass through the 99% free space of a keyboard. But I’m never going to look it up, not that one.

The other day someone I was working with sparked my interest in science again. The guy can probably lift 5 of me over his head with one arm. But he started to ask me some questions I couldn’t answer and tell me things I didn’t know about the universe. It was actually a pretty fun conversation and I enjoyed having it. But I never did anything about it. I know that most people are the same, which kinda makes me feel bad. It’s the potential that is lost, when we don’t ask questions or don’t look for the answer.

Now I don’t know about you but I’m going to google that matter question now. I hope you enjoyed the read.

About Snababo

What can I say? I'm 26, Irish, have Asperger's Syndrome and a lot on my mind.
This entry was posted in This Crazy Race and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

