A long time coming

(Post from previous blog)

Those of you that know me will probably not be surprised that I’m doing this, frankly I’m surprised that it took me this long to begin with. For those of you that don’t know me, hi, my name is Joseph and I love music. I like it enough that I’ve decided that I’m going to write about it, and possibly other stuff I haven’t really decided yet. Now straight up I’m going to say that I’m not a professional and I have no idea how often I’m going to update this, but if you read it I hope you enjoy the read. Now I can’t promise that I’ll always pick good music, knowing what’s bad about something and why is just as important as knowing when something is good.

So without further ado the first song that I’m going to talk about is “The Call” by Regina Spektor. For those of you that don’t know the song have a listen here.

The first time I even heard of this song was sitting in the back of a classroom before the end of sixth year (I’m Irish). I was being told that everyone was going to be singing it at the graduation mass or some such. Now for one I was annoyed that there was going to be a graduation mass. Then I was really pissed that they wanted us all to stand up and sing about it all ending. After I cooled my jets for a while though I decided I may as well listen to whatever horrible piece of music my year had chosen and was pleasantly surprised. Granted I still wasn’t happy so I never really looked passed the bare face of the song. Just did what I had to do like any other school project.

But just today for some reason, four years after the fact. I decided to listen to it again, just out of the blue. Couldn’t even remember what the song had been called. In the end as you can see I found it. If you were listening while you read you’ve probably heard almost everything that you need to in the song. In the first minute alone the song and the lyrics meld very well. Both starting very quietly but getting louder in unison. But drawing you back at points. This song isn’t about triumphant victories or heroes on a quest. It’s about ordinary people doing ordinary things. Sure there is mention of war and conflict in the lyrics, but that’s little more than background for what the song is conveying. The words convey turmoil of one form or another. But the turmoil isn’t important, what’s more important is that the singer will be there for the person when they come back.

However for all the uplifting parts of the song it ends on a somewhat dreadful note. For me it’s a solid reminder of how, no matter what you may wish, things do end, sometimes suddenly. But just because they do doesn’t mean we have to help them along. As I’m writing this two of my friends are probably running around like headless chickens (or more likely one of them is while the other is saying “Ah it’ll be grand sure”) preparing for a wedding that’s in two short days, and another two friends have one coming up a little further down the line. Oddly enough, or maybe not due to the images in the song, this makes me think of them and that I hope they never truly have to say goodbye to each other.

Lastly, on a more personal note, to any of my friends are reading this, no matter how long it’s been since we talked, just like in the song, I’m only a phone call away. For anyone who doesn’t know me, pick a friend you haven’t talked to in a while, give them a call, who knows maybe they miss you. Just don’t know how to say it.

About Snababo

What can I say? I'm 26, Irish, have Asperger's Syndrome and a lot on my mind.
This entry was posted in Review Corner and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

