Living with “People”

Some of you may see the title of this post and think “What else would you be living with, blind mole rats? I mean their immunity to cancer is fascinating but I don’t think that they would make good house mates. I mean they would never be able to find the bathroom on time!”. For those of you who do think that, or something vaguely similar a brief explanation is needed: People are those you try to get away from when you don’t want to be around people, a person may or may not be people, but being people isn’t bad it just isn’t what I… I’ve lost myself here. In short when I start panicking and don’t want to be around “People” there are those that don’t count as “People” and I’m still happy to interact with them… for the most part.

Now that that is out of the way, I’m currently living in a house with a lot of People. Where at home there had been 3 people in the house who were very easy to avoid because of their daily habits, now there is at least 12 People in the house some of which I haven’t even seen yet. They all also have so many different different time schedules that it’s hard to go into the communal areas without stumbling across someone. Not in a bad way, it’s not like the people in the house aren’t nice. I just don’t know them.

So a few days ago I had a bit of a panic. I’d had a few long days at work, I had been pulled left right and centre all day with things breaking down and needing to be fixed, installs that didn’t go as fast as they should and stress from talking to people about things going wrong. So when I got home I didn’t want to be around People. After having food my room mate was going out to a gathering. So I was going to do the dishes, but then I realised that there were people in the kitchen. Knowing there were people in the kitchen I decided to put it off, cause I wasn’t in a people mood. But then a horrible thing happened. I started cycling.

So I couldn’t go into the kitchen cause there was people, so I couldn’t wash the dishes. So I waited until the kitchen was peopleless… but it didn’t happen, or it didn’t happen when I was checking. Then I started to panic, cause there were things I wanted to do but I couldn’t do them with people about cause I couldn’t handle the stress of them… being there, looking at me, thinking I’m crazy. I know people don’t think that… or at least I don’t think they do, but when I’m off kilter then they may as well be holding knives and threatening to stab me, hell that might even be easier.

So while that is a horrible thing and I hope it won’t happen again there is some good stuff. My room mate is a pretty awesome dude. He doesn’t work most weekdays so when I come home he is almost inevitably cooking something up to be eaten. We also get along really well, hell he is one of my closest friends and I know I can trust him. He does keep telling me to wear a coat cause it’s “cold” or to eat more even though I don’t need to (I’ve got a weird metabolism). But he is an awesome dude and without a doubt he is keeping me sane in a world full of People.

So that’s all for today, certainly not a very significant post or ground breaking, but it was on my mind.

Oh before I go, a couple of friends have asked if sharing these posts is okay. So so everyone knows not only is it ok it’s encouraged. If you like a post feel free to spread it around, if I was afraid of people reading it I wouldn’t put it on the internet. Have a good time everyone. I’ll see you around.

About Snababo

What can I say? I'm 26, Irish, have Asperger's Syndrome and a lot on my mind.
This entry was posted in Living My Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

