The internet and me

The internet and I (grammar!) have a strange relationship. Not the kind where we tie each other up, that’s a whole different kettle of fish. It’s one with a lot of ups and downs most of which I won’t go into in detail. Though some I will (otherwise this will be a very short post).

As many of you know I’m a gamer. As such the internet has provided me with a way to get my Game on at any time from almost any location. However the ability to have games constantly update had ruined the games themselves. A lot of games have lately been released half finished and buggy to all hell to be fixed/finished 4 months later. Uncool.

The big one that has been odd lately however is to do with newer friends/acquaintances. I have a semi busy week, with little free time to socialize. However the internet, ever helpful, has the answer for that. New acquaintances can talk to me via message systems.
YAAY!!!
Though not really. I have this weird problem with webchats and texts and the like. I don’t actually mentally connect them to the other person. I don’t know why I just don’t. This does two things, when talking to someone (via internet) I tend to relax more and actually be able to have a proper conversation. Which is pretty good, I get to know people, people get to know me. However once the conversation ends, when I see them in person the conversation may as well never have happened. Cause I feel just as nervous around them, sometimes even more so because it’s like I know things about them I shouldn’t because we never actually talked about them…
It’s weird, it’s annoying and it’s confusing. Anyway, I don’t know how to fix this issue our really make people aware of it. Unless I use the internet, the source of and solution to all of my problems. So if you are new in my life and notice I’m distant when taking to you, I’m sorry, I have a lot going on in my head.

I hope you enjoyed the read and it gave you some insight into me or maybe you have a similar problem and are relieved you aren’t the only one (if so please say so, so I can feel relief too… Kinda)

About Snababo

What can I say? I'm 26, Irish, have Asperger's Syndrome and a lot on my mind.
This entry was posted in Inside My Head and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

